PRIM&R Membership Awards

PRIM&R members are engaged everyday in important work that advances the ethical conduct of research. PRIM&R is proud to periodically recognize those who have made outstanding and valuable contributions to this field. Since 1996 and 2006, respectively, PRIM&R has presented the Distinguished Service Award (DSA) and the ARENA Legacy Award (ALA) to honor our members’ exceptional accomplishments.

The DSA honors “an individual(s) who has made a valuable contribution to the ethical conduct of research and to enhanced compliance with federal regulations.” In addition, recipients of the DSA are members who have made long-standing contributions to PRIM&R.
Past recipients of the DSA include:2008 – Jeremy Sugarman
2006 – Bonnie M. Lee
2005 – Ernest Prentice
2003 – Gary Chadwick and Susan Kornetsky
2002 – Joan Rachlin
2001 – Karen Hansen
2000 – Robert Nelson
1999 – Marky Pitts and Molly Greene
1998 – Ada Sue Selwitz
1997 – David Bernhardt
1996 – Helen McGoughThe ALA recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the goals of PRIM&R by significantly promoting the ethical conduct of research through mentoring, teaching, and leadership. From 1986 to 2005, the Applied Research Ethics National Association (ARENA) was the membership division of PRIM&R. One of the many important contributions that ARENA made to the field of research ethics was to encourage the professional advancement of those who work in the field of subject protections, as that, in turn, promotes excellence in the field and ultimately contributes to a more ethical research enterprise. This award is intended to honor individuals who embody these ideals by consistently fostering professional development through leadership, education, and mentoring.Past recipients of the ALA include:2008 – William Freeman
2007 – Elizabeth Bankert
2006 – Marky PittsPlease take the opportunity to learn more about each recipient on our website.It is time, once again, to recognize leaders in the field. If you are a PRIM&R member, you received an e-mail with details on how to nominate your colleagues on August 6. If you missed it, please visit our website to nominate a fellow member today! The deadline for nominations is Thursday, September 10, 2009.